6.7 Liter Dodge Cummins 07.5-12 Discussion of 6.7 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels

6.7 computer programming

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2009, 11:23 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 6.7 computer programming

o.k. I'm very new to the diesel stuff, but have been an avid drag racer running ls1 stuff for several years now.

We have a good 3 or 4 programs out that let us program the stock computer, as do the ford guys for the mod motors so that we can pretty much do whatever we want with them, run anything for injectors, turn stuff on and off as needed, etc.etc.

Is anyone working on a software that would allow us to do the same with the diesel computer? I'd love nothing more then to be able to just hook the laptop up to the dash port and program away... turning stuff like EGR and the DPF related codes to a ready no report status like we do with the car's, and then remove all the BS that's on the trucks and get the perofrmance and mileage that we should be, but apparently there's no software out there that will do this.

My question is, why? I am sure it's not because the computer can't be reprogrammed, it's a computer, and it will do whatever you tell it to. Just a matter of cracking the code and getting the needed software and cable.

Anyone working on anything like HP tuners for the computer's in our trucks?

Old 03-18-2009, 09:25 PM
Diesel Fan

unfortunately, us cummins guys dont have anything as sweet as the EFILive for the dmax. the smarty for the 6.7 seems promising, but there are guys on here way more knowledgeable on that than myself. there are a lot of programmers out there that once installed override or fool sensors to add more fuel or boost or pressure. some mildy affect timing, some a little more. from what i understand the new smarty for th 6.7 should be the best. i think the PMT and XRT are next in line as far as modification ability goes and then the edge and then the rest such as diablo sport and the many other brands.