5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

Hard Shifting NV5600 Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2014, 10:00 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hard Shifting NV5600 Help Needed

Hey Guys, bare with me as this is going to be a little long winded, but I have been through quite the process to get where I am.

Background:
2003 Ram 3500 QC/LB DRW 4x4 NV5600
Current Miles: 265000

Horsepower - EST 650RWHP

User Experience: I am a heavy truck mechanic, and very well versed in manual transmission driving.

I bought the truck with 170K miles on the clock, it had a semi-recently rebuilt transmission with unknown mileage and a Sachs clutch.

I got to 260K miles with the Sachs clutch before it started to get weak. It really held up impressively well given the horsepower (Was only able to run Smarty at #5) and heavy towing. At almost the same time part of the shifting mechanism for 4th gear decided to fail. I had always run Redline MTL in my transmission with great results, old transmission was very clean and in good shape when it was disassembled.

I decided to bite the bullet and buy a rebuilt transmission, transfer case, and a South Bend DD-3250-6. At a little over $5000, it was a little (okay a LOT) painful, but I was really hoping I would have smooth sailing for a long time to come.

Transmission came from a local manual-only rebuilder who has been in business several decades, with a great BBB record, and good reviews.

I took the truck to only of the only local shops in town I trust my vehicles with, I am VERY particular about mechanic work. $600 later I had my truck back.

Oil used: AMSOIL Syncromesh