1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

Help With My Brake Problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2010, 07:43 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Help With My Brake Problem

so lets just say i'm kinda mad. this starts about 6months ago. was loosing fluid to my rear brakes. couldn't find a leak. not my wheel cylinders nor my brake lines, no where. so after talking to a friend at napa he said maybe the master was leaking into the booster, so i got a master. took the old one off and it wasn't wet at the booster, had it so i replaced it anyway. still lost fluid, so i replaced the rear lines to the p-valve and from the p-valve the rest of the way to all the way to the wheel cylinders. after that i didn't loose any fluid but the pedal seemed to slightly fade. well about a week ago i started hearing a squeaking from the ft dr side. brake pedal felt kinda spongie so i figured my pads where getting bad and it was hitting the squealers.pads where still had about 10 32nds on them put pads on it, put my foot on the pedal and pumped the pedal to push the pistons back out. got a pedal but now it was fading almost instantly to the floor, turn the truck off and have a rock hard pedal. so i figured the booster is bad. replace it, no change. decided to bleed the brakes, no change. thought maybe the master just took a crap and decided if i'm gonna bleed them again im going to put another master new calipers and wheel cylinders on just to eliminate them. do it, bleed it and now it doesn't go all the way to the floor but still fades, feels spongie and i really have to push hard to stop. it also feels like the rear it stopping more then the front, could just be me. brake hoses where replaced about 3 years ago. abs unit still has the lines plumed through it but is unplugged from the rearend. got good fluid pressure out of everything. i'm stumped any suggestions would be great......sorry its so long