1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

Real HP with 1st Gens

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2012, 02:54 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Real HP with 1st Gens

Ok I'm sure this has been covered before but thought I would see what kind of response I get.

How about a quick response on What HP are you getting with your first gen?

What modifications did you do to get that? (Details, parts, and adjustments etc)

I'm new to this and have already been frustrated trying to figure out the realistic numbers I should expect without breaking the bank. I'm currently rolling a stock motor however getting crap for gas mileage. I sometimes suspect that the power to weight ratio is off and i'm under-powered. Can never have too much right. I know this is very open ended but would be interested to know more about what others are doing. Thanks in advance.

Old 10-04-2012, 03:52 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

Might try adding Automatic Tranny fluid or two cycle oil or Diesel Kleen by Power Service to your diesel, that should bring your mileage up some. A properly tuned injection pump will do wonders for your mileage too.

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

https://www.dieselbombers.com/genera...-oil-info.html

My Dually has gotten 21 MPG ever since it was new, has not changed a lick, but its always been run on Farm Diesel till I got it and put the first shot of Diesel Clean in it. Had good luck with Diesel Kleen by Power Service before, it should serve me well, here you can get a 150 gallons worth of diesel mix for $16.88 at Walmart. That's cheap to keep your sulfur requiring injection pumps lubed properly. I think at least.

Last edited by bladeyamaha; 10-04-2012 at 03:52 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Old 10-04-2012, 04:11 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 39 Likes on 25 Posts