5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

Major issues.. Need help.. 2004 H.O

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2011, 04:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Major issues.. Need help.. 2004 H.O

This might be a tough read for some if not all but.. I am not very good at writing..
OK... The older my truck gets the more things are going wrong.
I had a similar issue last winter when my fuel lines froze up but this seems a bit different.
The truck has 134K on it and a few weeks ago it started acting up on cold mornings. I would start it to let it warm up. After starting It would run for a few seconds and then shut off. I would start it again and it would run and be ok. Then two weeks ago I was driving on a highway took the exit. I came to a stop, light turned green and I went almost stalling it. It felt like I was in the wrong gear.(I wasnt) Then it did it again a few seconds later and then was fine for a couple of days. Another morning I warmed it up and went to drive it, It kinda puttered and then went.. Did it again and then went... I start to think... Is my lift pump going? I changed the lift pump. Things were fine for a few days and it puttered again..
It has been cold in my area the last few weeks but not that bad. Here is another strange thing... I was trying to fill it up and it wouldnt take the fuel. It kept clicking the fuel nozzle. I knew the tank had room. It took me 10 minutes to get the last gallon or so into it.It wasnt overfilled because it would go down the neck. Started my truck and it only read 3/4 of a tank. My fuel gauge has always been right and never had an issue. Fast forward to today...