5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

POWER LIMIT

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2009, 12:49 AM
Diesel Fan
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Arrow POWER LIMIT

I'm a Newb so I don't know if this has already been discussed but my Question is....

What Is a SAFE "Power Limit" on a Stock Block for the 03-07 Cummins? I'm wanting to get away with as much as I can but still have a reliable DD. Any help would be appreciated, Thanks

Old 10-01-2009, 12:52 AM
BOMBARDIER
Received 279 Likes on 256 Posts

the block um well right around 750ish...now the top end, head studs, valves them things...not to mention your tranny is gonna need some upgrades to hold the power...

Old 10-01-2009, 12:56 AM
Diesel Fan
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Yeah of Course, So these guys making 1100+ Ft.Lbs... What are they running? Stock Block with Upgraded Internals? That's Basically all I wanna know about is the Block. I Definitely plan on Upgrading the Internals

Old 10-01-2009, 01:45 AM
BOMBARDIER
Received 279 Likes on 256 Posts

1100 ft lbs aint but about 450-500 horsepower and you can get that with a good programmer and some injectors...and the stock bottom ends will hold plenty for a daily driver...it mainly the valve train that needs to be updated to be reliable

Old 10-01-2009, 03:08 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 23 Likes on 19 Posts

You should be fine on the 'block' side of things....
These guys are right: It's the drivetrain that will be the weak link. Auto trannys don't want very much extra power really. Course that depends on how you drive them actually. Even the clutch in a manual will cry for mercy with a strong programmer.