5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

Diesel leak above transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2014, 04:10 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Diesel leak above transmission?

Hey bombers- I'm a newbie to the diesel scene and to the forum so be nice!

My 06 5.9 has been leaving puddles in the drive way- thought it was from ac but when I crawled under and smelt it - yup it's diesel I had read maybe it was from my fuel filter drain or seal- that's all dry- after drying everything I traced it up to the top of the transmission. There is a drip coming from between the engine and transmission and it slides its way down to the bottom of the tranny. This is only when running- Can anyone tell me what line this is? I can't seem to find any info! the hose is rubber and goes from rectangular box with fins back over toward passenger side. What is the name of the box also? The arrow for #11 goes over the rectangle I'm talking about. It is that top left hose that turns back behind motor- Truck is running and starts fine- no sense in wasting diesel unless it's in a black cloud! Thanks in advance

Attached Thumbnails Diesel leak above transmission?-image.jpg  

Last edited by CumminsCoalRoller24/7; 11-25-2014 at 04:35 PM. Reason: Add info
Old 11-26-2014, 07:31 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 111 Likes on 105 Posts

It's the fuel return line on the back of the head. 18mm wrench should work I think?!
It's a banjo fitting hopefully the line isn't cracked!

The following users liked this post:
CumminsCoalRoller24/7 (11-26-2014)
Old 11-26-2014, 11:38 PM
Diesel Enthusiast

Thanks dangerous - do you think it's just loose and may need to be tightened up? I'm not familiar with the banjo fittings- I can't see exactly where it's leaking due to it being blocked by other lines and obstacles - when I reached in behind there I felt the line go from rubber to metal- do I need to worry about over tightening?