Diesel Bombers

Diesel Bombers (https://www.dieselbombers.com/)
-   5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 (https://www.dieselbombers.com/5-9-liter-cr-dodge-cummins-03-07/)
-   -   Diesel leak above transmission? (https://www.dieselbombers.com/5-9-liter-cr-dodge-cummins-03-07/124557-diesel-leak-above-transmission.html)

CumminsCoalRoller24/7 11-25-2014 04:10 PM

Diesel leak above transmission?

1 Attachment(s)
Hey bombers- I'm a newbie to the diesel scene and to the forum so be nice!

My 06 5.9 has been leaving puddles in the drive way- thought it was from ac but when I crawled under and smelt it - yup it's diesel :td: I had read maybe it was from my fuel filter drain or seal- that's all dry- after drying everything I traced it up to the top of the transmission. There is a drip coming from between the engine and transmission and it slides its way down to the bottom of the tranny. This is only when running- Can anyone tell me what line this is? I can't seem to find any info! :argh: the hose is rubber and goes from rectangular box with fins back over toward passenger side. What is the name of the box also? The arrow for #11 goes over the rectangle I'm talking about. It is that top left hose that turns back behind motor- Truck is running and starts fine- no sense in wasting diesel unless it's in a black cloud! :tu: Thanks in advance

dangerous1965 11-26-2014 07:31 PM

It's the fuel return line on the back of the head. 18mm wrench should work I think?!
It's a banjo fitting hopefully the line isn't cracked!

CumminsCoalRoller24/7 11-26-2014 11:38 PM

Thanks dangerous :tu: - do you think it's just loose and may need to be tightened up? I'm not familiar with the banjo fittings- I can't see exactly where it's leaking due to it being blocked by other lines and obstacles - when I reached in behind there I felt the line go from rubber to metal- do I need to worry about over tightening?

cerberus60 11-27-2014 08:41 AM