5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

Possible new truck, Tranny problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2013, 09:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Possible new truck, Tranny problems

Hello all. My name is Dylan and I am new to the truck community. I am currently switching over from the car scene and need some help. Im looking at trading my car for 06 Ram 2500 diesel. It has 140 K. The owner says in the last 15k Its had completley rebuilt tranny, lift pump, injector pump, alternator, water pump, steering pump and brake pump. ( Hes had it for 2 years and put on barely any miles) It has a 8 inch Rize left kit and 40 inch Pro comp tires. Rear dever 1 Ton Leaf Springs 2" Dom Front Control arms, full exhaust etc. I beleive he has receipts for all this too.

Heres the kicker, After he put the lift and tires on he blew his tranny ( Not sure what exactly happened or broke, going to talk to him later).

He spent the money to rebuild his tranny with no soft parts (dont know what this means) And 10k Later its messed up again and for sale. He says That he was climbing a mountain and it over heated twice, By the time he got to the top tranny fluid was pouring out from the torque convertor. But how could you tell it was from your TC.

What Im wondering is what the truck needs to be safe from transmission problems. Its got a lot of new parts and low Kilometres and is honestly worth quite a bit more then my car.

What do you think might have happened to the transmission? I have a hunch he cooked his TC And just needs a new one. Theoretically the rest of the tranny should be brand new from the first rebuild.

What would this truck need with such big Tires and lift to be strong and able to support it all?