1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

bad fuel leak need help !!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2011, 06:37 AM
Diesel Fan
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question bad fuel leak need help !!!!

Was on my way to work this morning and started smelling fuel and then the truck started leaving puddles at stop lights so I got to work put a spill pad under it open the hood started it up and seen fuel spraying between the injection pump and the block like a garden hose question is is it possible that there is a line back there that could be leaking or is it possible that the pump crackedor something this is my first diesel so I'm very new to this and still learning I would appropriate any input its a 91 D250 thank-you

Old 05-31-2011, 07:01 AM
Diesel Bomber
Received 150 Likes on 108 Posts

That would be an O-ring gone bad. I've never taken one of our pumps apart, but I'm sure there's something in the sticky that will help. This problem is a fairly common occurance so do a search on the forum and see what threads come up. Also, IIRC there are some good vid's on Youtube regarding the rebuilding of the VE. Hope this helps.

The following users liked this post:
rlyncoal (05-31-2011)
Old 06-01-2011, 08:38 AM
Diesel Fan

Ok think I found were its leaking from looks like a plate just below the breather on the pump bad part about it is I'm guna have to pull the pump to do it ordered a rebuild kit from international it will be here today think I'm guna put in a gov spring while I'm in there any one no anything about re timing the motor when I put the pump back on ?

Old 06-01-2011, 02:46 PM
Diesel Bomber

RE-timing? Not quite sure what you mean. Please elaborate on that if you would.

Y'know, while you have the pump off, if it hasn't been done already, it might be a great time to do your KDP as well...

Old 06-01-2011, 03:11 PM
Diesel Fan