1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

12 valve help

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2009, 03:41 AM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 12 valve help

hi all my names bobby i recently bought my first diesel shes a 93 dodge w250 cummins 12 valve pretty much bone stock cone directly on the turbo & no muffler or tail pipe sounds pretty mean. now to my question for yall my buddy & i went @ diesel nationals & the night before we hacked the muffler off & he tweaked the smoke screw i was cruisin downt the highway & all of a sudden my truck decided @ roll over & die like it didnt wanna move to save its life once i came down from bout 70 to get on the parkway all the power came back it also did this on the way home wat could this problem be from???? my buddy says he only turned the smoke screw a 1/4 turn was that not enough? is it cuz of my exhaust being too short? im a gas mechanic & going 2 school for big diesel truck repair this is my daily driver so im hopeing this wont get worse over time also ive been haveing some electrical problems i plugged her in just 2 see if the heater worked & now the wait @ start light doesnt come on when i turn the key but comes on when the truck is started & since all this happened i havent had overdrive the switch wont light up or work for that matter as well as the heater control side of the dash lighting wise of course everything functions except the overdrive switch if anybody is local @ sussex county nj & is familiar with this model of truck email me @ amcman108@vzw.blackberry.net if u would like @ look @ the truck & see if u can find a problem but all other suggestions would be great i payed 3 grand for the truck & would realy like @ fix up more I LOVE DRIVEING THIS TRUCK its the most comfortable vehicle ive ever driven short of the rigid spring but ill get over it quick planning on a @ inch lift & leveling kit jus for looks way to long for wheelin