12 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 94-98 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with P7100 Injection Pumps

ring and pinion

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2010, 12:14 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 22 Likes on 13 Posts
Default ring and pinion

well i started hearing terrible noises coming from my rear axle so i ripped off my diff cover and found two big metal teeth layin at the bottom. i have never done anything so axles before. where do i even start? how do i get those gears out first of all...

Old 03-07-2010, 12:32 AM
BOMBARDIER
Received 240 Likes on 192 Posts

check this out and see if it has the info you need axle, gear, and differential setup notes remove axles remove cover remove driveline remove the yoke lots of work involved and you need the right tools to do it

Old 03-07-2010, 12:53 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 22 Likes on 13 Posts

oh jeez this isnt going to be fun. on a good note i will learn a lot. and of course all this happened in the middle of the worst hangover of my life.

Old 03-07-2010, 12:57 AM
BOMBARDIER
Received 240 Likes on 192 Posts

well good luck and yes you will learn alot and if you have any more questions ask and we will figure them out

Old 03-07-2010, 10:10 AM
Diesel Bomber
Received 35 Likes on 34 Posts

Make sure you get a shim kit.

Old 03-08-2010, 01:50 AM
Diesel Fan
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

i just had the same thing happen i went to az differential and bought a new ring & pinion
mine was a dana 70 - u rearend 3.54 ratio i paid 250.00 for the gears ,pinion seal, & shims. took 2 days to get parts took me about 3 hrs to do the job. when you get the old pinion out dont loose any shims and where they came from. the nose of the pinion has