12 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 94-98 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with P7100 Injection Pumps

8.3 , 5.9 family

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2009, 07:48 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 8.3 , 5.9 family

1993 8.3, rear engine pusher. Engine pulsates throughout the engine running ranges. Well maintained fuel filters etc., includes changing the lift pump and blowing through the return line back to the fuel tank making sure there wer no obstructions. Engine does not smoke. Low end take off is getting worse. I think that the turbo is going south. Has anyone else ran into these issues? I don't care to try a few things with tweeking the pump yet I need to try and figure out what fuel pressures off the lift pump and at the injection pump I should have and exactly where I can test the turbo. I will look at a couple Cummins books and see what I can find. I usually have better luck and advice with these forums. I have 25 years experience in automotive, hold two ase master certs and can try some things without getting myself in too much trouble. Any help is appreciated and I hope I can return the favor here in the future. We work with a fleet of school buses so we usually don"t have any major issues. OH, I rebuild a few automatic transmissions here and there and a few engines now and again. Most of my rebuilds I do at the home shop as side jobs. I'll try to help you folks when I can. I don't know it all but I try.

Old 09-01-2009, 09:21 AM
Diesel Bomber
Received 35 Likes on 34 Posts

is it hard to start?

Old 09-01-2009, 09:36 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5.9 , 8.3 engine family