2004 will not start - Diesel Bombers

Chevy/GMC Truck and Duramax Turbo Diesel Forum Discussion of General Topics related to All Chevy and GMC Trucks as well as the Diesels in them

2004 will not start

Reply

 
 
 
  #1  
Old 10-21-2009, 07:28 PM
puddlestomper's Avatar
Diesel Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 162
Thanked 15 Times in 6 Posts
Default 2004 will not start

I recently acquired a 2004 3500 2wd w/ allison auto. It will turn over, but not start. Fuel is up to the filter. Pump the little hand pump until it is tight. I put my computer code reader on the thing, but I can't get a signal from the computer. Is there any way to tell if the computer is good without the port? I have tried 2 code scanners, but neither will come on with this vehicle, but work with my car.

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

Oh, I just read the VIN and it is the LLY engine.
 

Last edited by puddlestomper; 10-21-2009 at 07:28 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-21-2009, 07:31 PM
2500HeavyDuty's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 14,872
Thanked 760 Times in 624 Posts
Default

Replace the cigarette lighter fuse, the OBDII port draws its power from there. And see if you can get codes after that.
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-28-2009, 04:31 AM
puddlestomper's Avatar
Diesel Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 162
Thanked 15 Times in 6 Posts
Default

I got the scanner to work. cigarette lighter was shorted out. No codes. Everything says pass. I primed the fuel system, checked all the plugs I could, everything seems ok but it just spins over. The only thing I see that isn't right is the oil pressure gauge stays to the far right, pointing down and right.
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-28-2009, 08:00 AM
Whit's Avatar
Site Mascot
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Why-homing
Posts: 16,010
Thanked 939 Times in 701 Posts
Default

crack injector lines 1,3,4 and prime it several times then tighten em up and try again.........should fire
 
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-28-2009, 08:41 AM
2500HeavyDuty's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 14,872
Thanked 760 Times in 624 Posts
Default

New fuel filter yes? Does the exhaust smell like fuel at all when cranking, if so it could be an injector hung open keeping it from firing. one way to check that is to pull the glow plugs and turn the engine over and if they are hung open fuel will come flying out.

Can you observe the rail pressure while cranking the engine over with your scan tool?



Originally Posted by Whitmore View Post
crack injector lines 1,3,4 and prime it several times then tighten em up and try again.........should fire

u dont want to do that, and 1,3,4 are the hardest to get to with the engine and components fully assembled they're buried under crap
 
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2009, 12:26 PM
puddlestomper's Avatar
Diesel Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 162
Thanked 15 Times in 6 Posts
Default

So another guy on another forum had a bad security circuit issue, and did a security "relearn". KNow anything about that? He said he didn't have a radio, put one in from a salvage yard, did a relearn and it started right up. And I have no way to smell the exhaust while I am cranking, it is outside, but I don't smell trace amounts of smoke when I get down there. This has the exhaust that dumps underneath in front of the axle.
 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2009, 02:17 PM
2500HeavyDuty's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 14,872
Thanked 760 Times in 624 Posts
Default

heres a thread https://www.dieselbombers.com/chevy-...acing-ecm.html about the "relearn procedure" post #3
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-29-2009, 04:49 AM
puddlestomper's Avatar
Diesel Enthusiast
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 162
Thanked 15 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Did the relearn thing. Now how tight is the manual prime button supposed to get? Seems like it is now losing prime?? When I crank it, the button goes back to very easy to push like when you open the bleed screw.

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

Oh, and still no start. Did not smell anything at the exhaust end of things. Don't know if it is getting fuel through the system.
 

Last edited by puddlestomper; 10-29-2009 at 04:49 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2009, 06:55 AM
Whit's Avatar
Site Mascot
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Why-homing
Posts: 16,010
Thanked 939 Times in 701 Posts
Default

I now see this is a Duramax................I thought you had a Cummins....sorry dude but scrap everything I said earlier
 

Last edited by Whit; 10-29-2009 at 07:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-29-2009, 12:18 PM
2500HeavyDuty's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 14,872
Thanked 760 Times in 624 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by puddlestomper View Post
Did the relearn thing. Now how tight is the manual prime button supposed to get? Seems like it is now losing prime?? When I crank it, the button goes back to very easy to push like when you open the bleed screw.

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

Oh, and still no start. Did not smell anything at the exhaust end of things. Don't know if it is getting fuel through the system.

check all fuel connections for leaks. around the fuel filter and such
 
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
ronstop
5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07
0
02-26-2015 09:48 AM
HKLBRY
Diesel In Distress - Support Ticket
2
02-18-2015 09:46 PM
HKLBRY
Ford Powerstroke 03-07 6.0L
0
02-17-2015 08:52 PM
Alwaysgone
Ford Powerstroke 03-07 6.0L
5
01-21-2015 04:55 PM
Gatorm
5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07
8
12-23-2014 11:53 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread