5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

snap snap snap?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2014, 11:22 AM
Diesel Fan
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default snap snap snap?

I had a bad seal in the drivers side rear end hub, so like a good boy i parked the truck until i had the seal and changed it. Bye bye wheel and brakes, off with the hub, bearings looked great so i changed the seal quick and reinstalled everything. Having the 11.5 AAM i torqued the bearings to 22 ft/lbs while spinning the wheel, and upon a little test drive the leak stopped, but HOLY F*CK what a racket coming from the rear end! I dont know what happened but my god its snapping and popping enough to hear over that cummins upfront! i'm not an expert on differentials but, did i forget something? I know on our dump trucks if i remove both axles the "collar" can fall down and you cant get the axles back in, but i only removed the drivers side and it slid back in nice as can be? i havent read anything that says i forgot a step, but even when i opened the cover up on the pumpkin i didnt see a single chunk shaving or file which would lead me to believe something in the carrier let go!? could it just be the bearings? maybe since theyre used they werent pleased with being torqued back to 22ft/lbs? any help is appreciated since i have to haul our horse trailer to a show this weekend, and momma bear will be ugly if its not ready to go! Thanks for any help/input!

Old 05-27-2014, 12:16 PM
RAW
Administrator

Received 684 Likes on 549 Posts

Did you lower the side of the axle that the seal was done to flood the bearings when you were done? I've heard of bearing issues happening if this isn't done. Topping up the axle alone isn't enough.

Old 05-27-2014, 03:34 PM
Diesel Fan