5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

Ideas for beginner mods?

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2013, 04:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Laugh Ideas for beginner mods?

Hey there. Well, I guess I'll just give a little description of myself as I'm new to Diesel Bombers. My names Rhett, I'm 19. I'm currently a full time farmer. My first truck was an old beat up 1995 gm 6.5 diesel with stacks (). I've always been a natural fan of diesels ever since my first tractor ride at age 4. My dad has had 2 different 7.3 powerstrokes that I've helped work on. A lot.. So I broke the norm and bought a brand spankin' new used 2006 Cummins!

The details of the truck are as follows -
(pic is my avatar)
2006 3500 5.9 MegaCab short bed 6 spd. manual
5" EZ Ride lift
35" Mastercrafts
5" turbo-back exhaust (unknown brand, but it's stainless)
Boost/Fuel Pressure/Pyro pillar gauges

The man who had this truck before me put the lift & tires on. There's a SMARTY sticker in the backglass, but he kept it

So now I'm looking to start my own mods. Everything motor wise is stock. Air/intake/manifolds/turbo/injectors. All stock. I pull goosenecks/hay carriers\misc wagons around a lot so I suppose towing and MPG would be the target with the ability so still have a little fun

I've got about $800 burning a hole in my pocket to use on this beast as I'm already in love with it. I was thinking a Smarty Jr. and S&B intake to start with, but I'll ask for some advice from you good folks.

All ideas/suggestions are welcomed. If all goes well and I don't change my mind, I'll order said products on Saturday (12\28).

Thanks!

Old 12-25-2013, 07:29 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 2006 Dodge Cummins advice -- Good Choice