24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

2 Run or not 2 run 2 stroke

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2011, 04:26 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default 2 Run or not 2 run 2 stroke

So I am new to this, but I have heard about running 2stroke with diesel. Can you guys tell me if it's worth it? Is this a proven science? What fuel additives work best? Can you increase mpgs by doing this?

Old 02-20-2011, 04:32 PM
Diesel Bombers Sponsor
Received 367 Likes on 251 Posts

Are you just looking for mileage increase? In all honesty the way to increase mileage is to increase the "energy" in the fuel which two stroke will not.
Two stroke is not a science and for true protection a fuel additive such as stanadyne (or other reliable brand) is the way to go. Plenty of folks use two stroke oil but have no clue if it's beneficial or not. They may say it beneficial but you could simply ask them for the proof, They might say their mileage is better and in fact it may be but it may have nothing to do with two stroke oil.

Old 02-20-2011, 07:07 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Yes I am looking for increase in mpgs. But I also wonder what other benifits come from fuel additives. What should I run is the better question.

Old 02-20-2011, 07:12 PM
Diesel Bombers Sponsor

It's really a personal preference, Whats easiest and most cost effective.
Of course the one with the most additive and best results will be the cost effective one, Not the cheapest. I run stanadyne but have also had good results with powerservice.
I do not recommend items like the lucas oil diesel and gas treatment. Anything with alcohol is bad news.
Fuel mileage is most effected by the way you drive and basic maint. of your truck.
Checking your tire pressure often, Keep up on air filter cleaning or replacement, fuel filter changes etc.