24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

1999 Dodge 24v

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2010, 05:50 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1999 Dodge 24v

Thinking about pulling the trigger on a new truck, but when I go to look at it I was wondering if there is any key things I should look for. I'm kind of new to owning diesels and just want to make sure I don't over look anything. Its a 1999 24v 4x4 with only 65k miles on it for alittle over 17k. Ext cab many options. One last question is, it has the big metal mirrors on it with the the three posts on the door. I kind of like the look of them, but that may change with time. Is there any way that I could switch over to regular stock mirrors? Thanks guys

Old 12-26-2010, 05:55 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 108 Likes on 106 Posts

Make sure it's not a #53 block, and that the KDP has been tabbed. Other than that, it's just the usual really. Don't know that you can replace the mirrors without leaving big holes in the doors...

Old 12-26-2010, 06:04 PM
Diesel Fan

Originally Posted by mishkaya
Make sure it's not a #53 block, and that the KDP has been tabbed. Other than that, it's just the usual really. Don't know that you can replace the mirrors without leaving big holes in the doors...
What are the issues with the #53 block? And yea the kdp I figured that would be one of the first things I tended to, dont want it coming out and causing any damage. And yea I was figuring if I wanted to change them over there would be some body work involved and now that I look at the picture theres 4 posts, I kind of like the looks of them anyways.

Heres a picture of the truck..
1999 Dodge 24v-dodge-24v.jpg

Last edited by CTDpower; 12-26-2010 at 06:13 PM.
Old 12-26-2010, 06:22 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 24 Likes on 18 Posts