24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

Clutch

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2010, 12:03 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Clutch

Question: Is it to hard to install a clutch guys I need to install a new clutch on this truck I just bought and a new flywheel since I can see from the bottom its got some teeth already damage and I think I am going to need a starter gear (were can i get the starter gear from?) . I have some experience fixing small stuff but I don't know if I can handle the clutch ,I have done the vp44 on my other truck and other small stuff like maintenance tranny and differential airdog install you know small stuff . I can follow instructions very well if somebody tells me how but maybe I need more than instructions ,Is not so much that I don't want to pay somebody to do it it's just that I want to learn how . Thanks !

Old 02-03-2010, 06:56 AM
Diesel Fan
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If you have some sense and know a lil it isnt to bad, just at least get the truck off the ground and try to get a good tranny jack because them trannys hurts if they fall, basic tools and etc is all thats needed

The following users liked this post:
Fiveseven (02-11-2010)
Old 02-10-2010, 09:43 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

its not to bad at all...i just swapped mine out and put a SDD in it only to me about 6 hours with the help of my brother

Fiveseven (02-11-2010)
Old 02-11-2010, 12:22 PM
Diesel Wrench
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

not rly that hard just pay attn to how stuff comes apart

Fiveseven (02-11-2010)
Old 02-12-2010, 11:20 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 45 Likes on 33 Posts

Back when we put the Zoom ZVT in my truck, The Undercar Digest guys were there to snap some pics and take notes for an article. When the article was published, they sent me this .pdf.

That's me in pic 17 dawg!!! LOL!!