24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

2001 2500 Woes

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2009, 02:38 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 25 Likes on 20 Posts
Default 2001 2500 Woes

Hey guys, I'm a newbie to DieselBombers. Texas college kid drivin an 01 2500 6spd. diesel. basically its all stock. these last couple of weeks its been givin me hell: the turbo's actin up, makin weird screech when it's spoolin up. also, it doesn't always wanna start when i crank it. it'll turn but won't fire the first, or second time i turn it. could somebody please help me, i really don't wanna lose this pickup to some fixable thing. o fyi, its got 559,049 mi. thanks yall.

Old 09-11-2009, 09:59 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 22 Likes on 15 Posts

As far as the turbo noise, not sure...the cranking could be the starter contacts. Chances are with that mileage, you may be due for some new contacts.

Old 09-11-2009, 11:31 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

for the noise check your exhaust manifold for cracks, as for the starting issue could be a lot of things most likely fuel related , check for codes if you got a scanner and we can go from there,wow thats a lot of miles !!!

Old 09-14-2009, 09:24 PM
Diesel Enthusiast

alright thanks guys. anyone know where i can find a good shop? im in stephenville, texas round a hundred miles south of DFW

Old 09-14-2009, 10:27 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 1 Like on 1 Post