24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

What engine should I use?

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2017, 06:24 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What engine should I use?

I'd like to start out with I'm new to diesel. I'm wanting to make a BOV and for good reason would like to run it on biodiesel. I want a cummins because with an inline 24v six I know I'll be able to achieve more torque off the line. Contrary to more popular choices I want to build up a Toyota Tacoma TRD. Why such a small truck? Mobility, functionality, and weight. I know using a small truck will raise many issues as far as weight, frame strength, and suspension but all that is gonna get beefed up anyway. All I want to know is what the best engine for get up and get the **** out for a super weighed down (small) truck? I want to achieve around 500-700 hp with a 3-stage turbo. Also I have no idea what turbo I should use for diesel. I'm typically more of a petrol guy so once more, I'm new to all of this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 01-18-2017, 07:29 PM
Diesel Fan

For those hp's, non 53 block for everyone, but if youre on a budget less build go for the mexico block. It didnt have a casting number and proved to be the strongest of the early 24v's. A vp44 can be a weak link. You can get a performance one, but even with it you will have to get the computer in there and kinda keep the same wiring. One thing you may be interested in is a P-pump swap on the 24v. Essentially put the P7100 on a 24 valve. And those of course can come geared for race. Most guys turn the screw but all is possible with it and no computers. Overall, you cant go wrong with the motor. Someone else will need to advise on turbos as I'm not to familiar with anything aftermarket.