24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

Just another newbie with some questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2013, 11:38 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Just another newbie with some questions

Ok, this is the first forum i have ever joined/ posted in.... So im clueless
I picked up my first diesel 2 weeks ago. Im an auto tech/aftermarket installer by trade... But all i have really done with diesels is the usual..... exhaust kits, tuners/modules (edge, bully, diablo, h&p), and numerous brands of cold air kits.
Im willing to tackle anything, once i have done some initial research.
I have a 99 Dodge Cummins 5.9 24v auto ext cab sb 189,500 miles never chipped/tuned only mods at this moment are 4" turbo back to Dual 5" stacks, Fass Hpfp lift pump, fuel press gauge with seperate low pressure warning light

So here are a couple of my questions, before i start searching this site for the info:

Ive heard all this stuff about a certain block that is no good, but i also heard if they have over 75k on them it doesnt matter?

I would like to get to about 350-375 rwhp (i was told 300-400 was a safe range for an unmodified tranny). I ordered a Air Raid stage 2 cold air kit, and my next plans were to get Boost/egt/trans temp gauges, an Intake tube (banks? ATS? S&B? AFE?) then some type of Tuner/module. I was Recommended a Smarty tuner by one of our suppliers. So am i heading in the right direction, or should i be looking into Injectors/other parts first?

Like i said before, im brand new to the whole forum thing. So any help/suggestions/tips in the right direction, will be GREATLY appreciated. I dont know alot about Diesels, YET!

Old 09-09-2013, 06:53 AM
RAW
Administrator

Received 684 Likes on 549 Posts

The 53 Block:
https://www.dieselbombers.com/24-val...info-pics.html