1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

What to do?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2011, 09:36 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default What to do?

Hello everyone;

I am new to all of this, apologize in advance for the slopiness and or posts out of place.

I just got a '93 4 x 4 single cab with 53 K, some rust spots but over all clean, needs paint, brakes (rear lines hanging broken) etc.

Front brakes work ok but nothing to brag about, they are a little hard. Is that how they are?
Rear brakes are completely shot, what low cost options are out there? I would like to convert to discs, but too much money. I have 3 young kids .

I read that you can install a booster and master cylinder from a latter model? would that work ok with the drums and the rest?

I will be using it as daily driver, I would love to hear about options to increase the gas milage in all possible areas.

Are gauges a must? I drive very conservative and very rarely with a load or triler.

Thanks all

Gonz:

Old 07-07-2011, 01:33 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

As for brakes go to the one ton stuff if your truck is a 3/4 ton. The one ton gives you 3" brakes vs 2.5" brakes on the 3/4 ton IIRC. I'm not sure if you need to change anything else to the one ton stuff or if it's just the shoes themselves. I had ~$200 in my rear brakes the first time I did them - 3" brakes, hardware kit, wheel cylinders, adjusters, axle seals, speacial socket to remove axle, rear cover gasket, diff fluid.