1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

Leaky injector

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2011, 11:44 AM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Leaky injector

Hey Gang, been running the 12 v for a few weeks now, shaking it down and stuff. But i have come across a leaky number 5 injector. I am still learning about these motors so i am not sure exactly on how to fix it. Do i need new injectors if they start leaking? If so, what would be a decent upgrade for a non intercooled 12 v?

Chris

Old 05-30-2011, 11:59 AM
Diesel Fan

Well can you give us some more detail from where its leaking from and is it just diesel or is there a poping sound come out of it as well

Old 05-30-2011, 12:18 PM
Diesel Fan

I am gonna have to take some pictures of it tomorrow. It seems like its at the injector base if that makes sense? I did not hear a popping sound but i didnt get very close to it.

Thanks

Chris

Old 05-30-2011, 02:27 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 34 Likes on 23 Posts

I had an injector leak and thought it was the lines. Turns out it wasn't. Bought all new injecctors and it stopped. The first thing you should do is pull the injectors out and send them off to be cleaned and pop tested. If that doesnt fix it be ready to drop the hammer on some new sticks.

Old 05-30-2011, 02:59 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 13 Likes on 9 Posts

id check the horseshoe washer on the return side of the injector. mine leaked there and i thought it was from the injector too.

Old 05-30-2011, 05:45 PM
Diesel Fan

Mine were leaking from the big nut that holds the injector in the block it was leaking compresion out of it but ya just double check to makr sure every thing is tight first then I would take them out and have them checked so that way your truck wont be down that long

Old 06-01-2011, 06:01 PM
Diesel Fan