1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

EGT---what is too high??

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2011, 09:10 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default EGT---what is too high??

My truck that I recently purchased (pictured below) has had some fuel pump tuning and timing advance done to it and runs pretty strong. Like pretty damn strong. I have purchased an egt gauge that I will be putting on it but I was wondering, what is really too high?

For my truck I will not be doing any serious towing or going up any serious grades. Mainly straight line acceleration for relatively short bursts (maybe 2nd gear, 3rd gear , and shut down in 4th). For these short times, what is reasonable??

I am relatively new to the diesel performance world and appreciate any help.

Attached Thumbnails EGT---what is too high??-0320011752.jpg  
Old 03-23-2011, 01:21 AM
Diesel Fan

I am very new as well, SO TAKE WITH A GRAIN OF SALT haha but.. I happen to know that most of your question has to deal with whether or not you are going to place your probe pre or post turbo.. and these figures may be off, and im sure someone will steer us both in the right direction if they are.. but 900 (Pre-turbo) is getting up there as far as danger zone which is roughly equivalent to 600 (Post-turbo).. But, thats just overly cautious me, I hear of guys that get scared around 1200 but I wouldn't recommend this since aluminum melts around 1300.. However, if thats all the work you plan to put her through I don't think you'll even get close to those temperatures.. Again, I could be very wrong.. Hope I helped more than hurt haha

Old 03-23-2011, 07:22 AM
Diesel Bomber
Received 150 Likes on 108 Posts

Sweet looking truck! Single cab duallys are my favourite. Great looking Ramcharger too dude!