1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

No overdrive and engine temp question

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2010, 08:38 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default No overdrive and engine temp question

Hey fellas, im new to the diesel world and have a couple of problems/questions with my dodge. Overdrive will work on a cold start for about an hour or so then it will not go into overdrive after this. I suspect its the overdrive solenoid and it seems as this is somewhat of a common problem. I just dont know if its an internal or external solenoid so that i may pull it and test it. Also question about the engine temp, on these trucks there is a "c" at the lowest and "h" at the highest, wondering where the needle is suppose to operate at assuming previous owners kept thermostat factory. Needle currently takes a while(20-30 minutes or more) to even come up above the "c" and highest it gets is to the first line...which is not even halfway through the range of the guage. I have a degree from nascar technical institute and a broad knowledge of gasoline engines but limited on diesels, for the moment! Saying that, most automotive manufactures design their guages to run around dead center of their range at full operating temperature. I guess the simple solution would be to install a new temp guage with numbered increments on it huh. if the guage is true then i would assume thermostat is stuck open as i have seen many times. also where can i get new interior parts and exterior parts as i would like to restore this truck, body and engine is in great shape just need to bring it up to a better condition that its in. Thanks!!

Old 07-18-2010, 05:12 AM
Diesel Bomber
Received 186 Likes on 159 Posts