1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

gov spring 3200?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2009, 01:33 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default gov spring 3200?

hey guys im new to this but i got a question about a gov spring size 3200 someone told me tht it would get rid of the lag between gears and give it more get up and go? wat do ya ll think?

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

does ne one have ne idea wat he was tlkin bout?

does ne one have ne idea wat he was tlkin bout?

does ne one know of a different gov spring tht i could put in the fuel pump for reduced lag?

Last edited by 1st genny nut; 11-27-2009 at 01:33 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Old 11-27-2009, 01:37 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 186 Likes on 159 Posts

That "lag between gears" you speak of is caused by the stock governed injection pump not fueling high enough to keep it in the middle of the powerband at shift point. The 3200GSK gives it an extra 1k rpm to fuel, letting you comfortably wind it up enough to grab the next gear without losing power when you shift. Best money to be spent on a 1st Gen stick truck, no exceptions. Not much $ either, around $20, give or take.

Old 11-27-2009, 01:41 PM
Diesel Enthusiast

thanks nadirpoint much appreciated do u have ne other suggestions for more power?

Old 11-27-2009, 02:01 PM
Diesel Wrench
Received 39 Likes on 32 Posts

Originally Posted by NadirPoint
That "lag between gears" you speak of is caused by the stock governed injection pump not fueling high enough to keep it in the middle of the powerband at shift point. The 3200GSK gives it an extra 1k rpm to fuel, letting you comfortably wind it up enough to grab the next gear without losing power when you shift. Best money to be spent on a 1st Gen stick truck, no exceptions. Not much $ either, around $20, give or take.
X2 Well put, man.