1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

Any Advice

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2008, 01:39 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any Advice

I have a 93 Dodge D350 CTD. I am in love with the Cummins engine, not fond of the Duramax or Powerstroke. I am looking to get about 450 hp out of my truck got a single 5" stack with a rain flap on it. Turned the pump up, figure I am at 230+ or - 10 hp. I have been working on cars and trucks for about 12 years was a mechanic in the Air Force for 6 years after that I was a mechanic on a fleet of rock hauling tractor trailers. I am new to this forum haven't found a forum i like yet hope this one is better than the rest. About my truck I know I need gauges. I would like to put a 14 cm hotside on the turbo a larger intercooler bigger injectors and a 6 speed tranny. My getrag makes way to much noise and I like to go fast. Any other ideas on what I should do to the truck yo reash my goal? One more thing my brakes really suck put a new master cylinder and booster on bled the snot out of the brakes shoes and pads are good no leaking wheel cylinders no other known problems. Do these trucks just have a soft pedal. The only thing I haven't checked or replaced is the vaccum pump. If you have priced one you know why I haven't replaced it and am not really sure how to check it. A vaccum gauge I suppose would work. Well that is it for now. If you have any questions for me I will do my best to answer them if I don't know the answer I will try to find it. Thanks in advance.

Old 10-04-2008, 03:18 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 335 Likes on 247 Posts

450 HP is hard to get to; there's less than a dozen trucks in the country with that. It is attainable though, and nothing too in-depth needs to be done, it's just a lot of little things that add up.