1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

How can I best verify a "Jake Brake" to be installed, or properly operating?

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2014, 04:30 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How can I best verify a "Jake Brake" to be installed, or properly operating?

When I recently bought my dodge (in sig) I noticed a couple decal stickers on the dash. One says "Banks Power" and correlates to the Banks power billet torque converter I have, which was installed by the previous owner.

There is also a "Jake Brake" decal... which makes me wonder if the PO also installed an exhaust brake on the truck.

The billet TC has a manual lock up switch on the dash and this does operate properly - I typically use it only ~40mph +. I am new to cummins and lock up TCs but have been searching threads here and see guys saying they use the TC in 2nd/3rd gear also.

According to the PO the tranny was rebuilt in addition to the new TC. He basically said everything was rebuilt tougher and stronger but didn't provide much in the way of details. If I wanted to cruise around town with the TC locked up, can I manually downshift to 2nd via the column shifter? As I understand it, the truck will stall if the TC is engaged and vehicle decelerates too much.

Regarding the exhaust brake - how can I best check to see if it's installed or functioning? I used the search but could not find any specifics aside from an auto trans needs a lock up TC to engage the exhaust brake... which is part of why I suspect the truck may have the "jake brake" installed. I don't think the PO would put the sticker there for no reason and I imagine he had it installed at the same time as the banks TC.

Thanks!

Old 01-19-2014, 04:53 PM
Diesel Bombers Sponsor
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts