1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

89 Dodge 1 ton 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2013, 06:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 89 Dodge 1 ton 4x4

Hey Ya'll, hope everyone's doin good. Critique me please. im ALWAYS open to learning and quit frankly im new to diesel and want to figure this out as best i can. VE pump adjustment ect. i have read countless threads and would just like some Direct info straight about my truck and situation. Thank you, All of you

Im new to the Forum deal but i think im catching on aside from how to set a profile picture.
i just recently bought a new 89 Dodge Cummins. found on craigslist and bought next day.
found this puppy with 185,000 miles in good condition for 2700 bucks!!
Drove her home started off with a 223 dollar impoundment fee the next day for no tags. needless to say i wasnt happy.

Nonetheless i finally got her back and started wrenchin. i drove it a hour and a half home ran Perfect. the next day had to add almost 5 quarts of tranny fluid. i have NO idea how it made it home basically being empty. I preceded to check the power steering fluid and changed all of that, bright yellow foamy fluid ha. After those couple expenses she's now running like a top.

i have been reading non-stop how to upgrade this 5.9 non intercooled motor. ill throw out what i got Definitely Critique anything you see from me.

Saying this truck was bone stock with 185,000 miles. i started off:
Rotating my stock fuel pin 90 degrees to the steep side.
Shortening the throttle linkage by using the Next-in Hole on the front side.
Backing out the smoke screw so it is level with the Nut in the pump cap.
Lastly Rotating the fuel pin star wheel 1/2 turn.

Id Love to get More Power and a little puff of smoke as the cherry on top for the local Ricers.

I Need: Definitely my Pyro Boost and Tranny temp gauges
id then like to get the Denny T stage 2 fuel pin.