1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

1993 d350 hot shot rig?

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2013, 01:35 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1993 d350 hot shot rig?

Looking to get a 93 d350 dually and use it for a hot shot application. It will be pulling 40 ft goosenecks loaded to the max. What I want to know is what upgrades would make this a reliable tow rig or would I be better off with a second generation 12valve? Any advice would be great I'm really new to this small truck stuff I drive a big rig that's why I say small truck

Old 03-20-2013, 03:27 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

Although I have not been in Texas oilfields I have been in utah's. And the hot shot trucks all around town are mainly less then 5 years old. Mainly due to washboard roads and most locations are all on dirt . I would look at something much newer if I was you. Not sure why you have settled on a truck of that age but in my fleet I worked on most trucks only lasted 3-5 years.

So in my opinion go as new as you can afford if that is your limiting factor. Up here hot shots seem to make good money and drive brand new trucks

Old 03-20-2013, 04:00 AM

Ya the oilfield is the same here in texas. ROUGH but i hear alot of good things as far as realiability on these trucks. I know that hotshot trucks make good money but a new set up will cost an inch off my dick and my left nut. I dont like owing lots of money. Debt in my opinion is the devil and if the oilfield ever slows down id be stuck with a huge payment. Id love a new truck but to start off I'd just like something reliable. I know New means less problems but its not no problems

The following users liked this post:
MossBack (03-20-2013)
Old 03-20-2013, 10:28 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts