1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

Do the intake horn shapes make a difference if it is IC'ed or not?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2012, 02:35 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Do the intake horn shapes make a difference if it is IC'ed or not?

I recently looked at a dusty old first gen and I looked at the motor, but I did not look to see if there is an intercooler or not. I do remember that the intake horn started on the driver side of the motor and stopped at the snail of the turbo and said Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo Diesel on it. I looked at an intercooled first gen online, and it started in the same spot, but bent toward the driverside fender and went down a tube by the driver side fender well. Is that truck I looked at non intercooled?

I believe this is an intercooled one

I think this is not an intercooled one

All help is appreciated! Sorry, but I am new to the first gens.

Old 10-03-2012, 06:33 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

The second pic is of a non intercooled one. The first is of course of an intercooled one. There is a difference.

Old 10-03-2012, 10:13 PM
Diesel Wrench
Received 41 Likes on 40 Posts

Yes Blade got it right. What do you wanna know about the two?

Old 10-04-2012, 12:37 AM
Diesel Enthusiast

I was just wandering because I forgot to check if there was one on a truck I was thinkin g of buying, but I do remember that intake horn.

Old 10-04-2012, 02:41 AM
Diesel Wrench

Gotcha non intercooled trucks perform better btw but will get hot temp wise like water and egt's. you can put an ic style rad in the non ic or put in a intercooler n bigger turbo n have at er.

Old 10-04-2012, 06:37 AM
Diesel Enthusiast

Don't miss all that stuff on a non IC'd one!

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

Radiators to me really sucked!

Last edited by bladeyamaha; 10-04-2012 at 06:37 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Old 10-04-2012, 09:10 AM