1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

low idle problems really need help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2012, 11:00 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default low idle problems really need help!!!

hey guys, i have been having a problem with the idle on my truck. when i start it up in the morning it will fire up and sit and bounce the pin in the guage around 14 volts. when i am running down the road it holds steady in the same spot. once i get up to running temp little over 1/4 on temp guage, and i pull up to a stop light the voltage drops to like 9 maybe 10 volts. the idle goes down to the point where the truck starts to shake and sound like its lopeing but as soon as i hit the gas it jumps right back up and holds. i am by no means a great mechanic so i am definatly stumped by this. this is no ac, no heat, doesent matter if sterio, or onboard air, or cb are on or off. and i really dont think its the idle or want to crank it up because then it would be super high in the morning before it gets up to running temp. could it have something to do with the star wheel or fuel screw? or even fuel pin? i havent changed anything lately but i have a bd pin (it was doing this before and after i installed it) and as far as whats been done to the screws i know the full power has not been touched. but the cap for the fuel screw is missing and i know the star wheel has been turned because it puffs white smoke at idle. any ideas? i am supposed to drive it 5 1/2 hours to boise this weekend and would really love to try to smoothen this out cus i will be pulling about 8000 pounds.

Old 09-12-2012, 11:59 AM
RAW
Administrator

Received 684 Likes on 549 Posts