1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

how much life does this truck have left?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2012, 04:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how much life does this truck have left?

The truck in question is a 1989 D350 flatbed. It belongs to a friend but i'm thinking of buying it. Here's my story

... he loaned it out and the guy dove it hard and with out front bump stops, creating cracks in the front cross members. where the lower arm mounts are. I repaired the cracks and replaced ball joints tie rod ends, brakes wheel bearings etc.

I'm told it has 389k miles but no one is really certain. it smokes white at idle... and has some blow-by out the oil filler. But I'm not sure if this is a big deal. I'm new to the cummins.

it seems to have decent power and it shifts good, although i wouldn't mind if it was a bit more crisp. Its an automatic. The rear transmission seal seems to be leaking but no one has ran it low on fluid.

The rear brakes are shot... metal to metal and wheel cylinders are leaking... however I have a dually 14boltFF with low miles and new brakes and a Detroit locker in it. sitting behind my shop. Would probably be an easy swap?

Looking to use this as my daily driver/tow/ crap hauling truck. I used to daily drive my 6.2 cucv but it keeps having issues and I'm ready to cut the axles out of it and sell off the rest.

All my long winded yapping aside... is there any way I can tell if the motor and tranny will hold up for awhile. I wouldn't mind doing some minor power mods?

I tried to do a blow-by test with a make shift manometer but I'm not convinced that my findings were accurate at all.

Is a leak down test possible?

My friend is asking 3k for the truck and im sure its worth that. but I also don't want to buy a junker when I could wait around and find a better truck. But it seems people are rather attached to their ctds and I can understand why