12 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 94-98 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with P7100 Injection Pumps

12v blue haze

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2012, 11:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 12v blue haze

I'm a newbie first off so I'd like to say from what I've seen I love the forum.
My problem is I Just picked up a '98 12 valve automatic with 146k miles, while idling it puts out a blue haze..kind of worries me. I'm no diesel mechanic but ive taken a look at it and noticed the oil return from turbo to waste gate is blocked off on both ends with bolts shoved in the hose...not sure what that is about but trying to narrow down suspicions, i didn't figure it eas rings with the miles it has. So I figured I'd ask people who knew what they were talking about...could this cause my blue haze? Thanks for your time.

Old 03-04-2012, 11:22 PM
Diesel Enthusiast

blue smoke is "typically" oil burning sometimes it looks blue but is actually white which is "typically" low timing and un burnt fuel timing

Old 03-04-2012, 11:58 PM

What I'm saying though if my return line is capped off is it sending excess oil through it? It's not horrible but at a drive thru or anything you can see a descent amount of blue.

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

Update: my bad I was looking at the wastegate hose, what an idiot haha. Just not sure why my 140k mile motor would blue smoke at idle like it does.

Last edited by 12vturd; 03-04-2012 at 11:58 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Old 03-05-2012, 12:11 AM
Diesel Enthusiast

ya if ur oil inlet was capped off ur turbo would be tattered quick. wats ur timing set at? whens the last time u changed ur fuel filter

Old 03-05-2012, 01:20 AM