12 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 94-98 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with P7100 Injection Pumps

Rebuilt transmission slipping need help fast! 47rh

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2011, 01:27 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuilt transmission slipping need help fast! 47rh

Transmission was slipping so I pulled it out and put a rebuild kit in it replacing all the clutches becides the overdrive clutches, Put in a new performance valve body and a single disc converter good to 850lbs of torque. It goes in to gear just fine and seems to shift ok but still feels like the rpms are going up much faster then the truck is going, I can still hold the breaks on and spin the tires but just does not feel rite. What could be causing this problem? I have never rebuild a transmission before so its my first time, I also added a hughes bigger transmission pan. I have a total of 21 quarts of fluid in it, I made the mistake of mixing fluid as I miss read it, It has half +4 and half type F not sure if this would be a problem but other places said it was fine on the internet. Please give me some sugestions of what this could be. Thanks!

Old 03-08-2011, 05:18 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 58 Likes on 50 Posts

id change that fluid its not best idea to mix types.did you also put in a shift kit?it could just be that the new tranny aint broken in yet & your not used to it yet

Old 03-09-2011, 10:35 PM
Diesel Fan

Ok were is the slip and how bad is it? What gears are affected? I wouldn't mix fluid either put 1n type f or atf+4. Type f is a harsher fluid and will firm up the shift. Atf+4 has quit a few friction modifiers and is neccesary in the front wheel drive dodge units but the rear wheel drives aren't as picky.

Old 03-10-2011, 09:34 AM
Site Sponsor - 1aauto
Received 68 Likes on 66 Posts