12 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 94-98 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with P7100 Injection Pumps

Lost in the sea of short forms and references

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2010, 08:59 AM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lost in the sea of short forms and references

Ok I am new to this I supose. I have a 97 3500 with a 12v and I am looking for the stock timing proceedure I searched yesterday and found the proceedure with a nice chart that contained pump cam lift and timing in degrees. Today I can't seem to find it.
I would like to start with the timing at the factory setting using the TDC lock on the cover. Does anyone have a link or some info on this? I am also wondering about this star wheel and fuel plate thing you are all talking about. What are they and where are they? Does anyone have pictures of them on here?

Old 03-17-2010, 10:35 AM
Being Evaluated
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

This is what a fuel plate looks like
http://www.mayerfarmequipment.com/ch...lates/6a_1.jpg
It controls how the motor fuels. A bigger plate equals much more fuel hence more power (around 140hp worth)

Which goes into your afc
http://dodgeram.org/tech/dsl/more_po...c_bottom18.jpg

And here is the starwheel
http://www.freewebs.com/nevrenufhp/MWpumpplugs.JPG
which controls pre boost fueling

But instead of setting it back to the boring factory timing, why not bump it to 15 or 16*? truck runs better and responds better to mods this way.

Last edited by 85_305; 03-17-2010 at 11:11 AM.
Old 03-17-2010, 12:06 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 34 Likes on 28 Posts

This is one of the better sets of instructions for timing the 12V out there:

TSB 18-10-94 Rev. A

Note that you can also time without measuring the lift at the pump, but it is somewhat iffy, as you don't really know exactly what you've set. Take what I'll write below as a secondary means, and at that, know that you should probably have some experience tuning and timing engines first.