6.7 Liter Dodge Cummins 07.5-12 Discussion of 6.7 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels

downpipe and dpf removal

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2011, 07:42 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default downpipe and dpf removal

ok guys, i think you guys have answered this already but, like i said before, im new to this. I recently recieved the aftermarket downpipe and the dpf delete pipe. im going to attempt to put this on myself this weekend but, i need some help. where do i start with the removal and what tools will i need. i noticed two lines running back to the stock dpf and i dunno what to do with them afterwards. the new dpf delete pipe has no bungs nor does the downpipe. what do i need to do with the o2 sensors and any other wires/lines. Is it really necessary to loosen the tranny cross member or no? Do I have to remove the rght front tire as Ive heard or can I leave it on? your help is greatly appreciated. also what kinda time frame am i looking at since i may do it in the afternoon at my buddies shop. Thanks again

Old 09-22-2011, 08:34 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm no pro, but a friend of mine and me did it in about four hours. I put a 5 inch exhaust including a 5 inch downpipe on mine. I didnt need any special tools for the exhaust, just basic hand tools, I welded my exhaust but clamps will work fine, I dont see why you would need to pull the right front tire off because you can get to the clamp on the downpipe pretty easily from underneath the truck (I had a 2 post lift). The two lines that run to the DPF I just pulled loose from where ever it is they go, and I just zip tied the other electrical connections around my frame. Been going strong since May with no check engine lights etc. plus 20+ mpgs. good luck

Old 09-22-2011, 08:35 PM
Received 843 Likes on 695 Posts
Default Re: downpipe and dpf removal

What tuner are you using?

Luke

Old 09-25-2011, 06:33 PM
Diesel Fan