Diesel Bombers

Diesel Bombers (https://www.dieselbombers.com/)
-   1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 (https://www.dieselbombers.com/1st-generation-dodge-cummins-89-93/)
-   -   first mod advice (https://www.dieselbombers.com/1st-generation-dodge-cummins-89-93/92885-first-mod-advice.html)

trentowens92 03-12-2012 07:38 PM

first mod advice

im new to diesel so i hope this doesnt sound stupid...but this summer i am planning on doing a few mods on my 91.my question is which would be the most beneficial to me?(other than the fuel pin,govener spring,and gauges)

-currently it is non intercooled.would putting an intercooler on help?
-also i have heard putting on a smaller turbo housing will help build boost faster.
-a completely different turbo
-p pump conversion
-anything else you suggest??

any and all help is appreciated.thanks

Diesel Dawgs Performance 03-12-2012 07:39 PM

Depends on how much power your looking for and your budget.

trentowens92 03-12-2012 07:55 PM

right now im just pretty much window shopping.looking around curious as to what there is out there.idk if i should put all the money into a p-pump conversion,or should i do a few smaller mods...i would like a decent amount of fuel mileage without terrorizing my fuel mileage.all ideas are welcome.

if you got any thoughts i would be interested in any and all info you got for me...fuel mileage increase,power increase,pros and cons,cost,ease to install.

Cummins12Club 03-12-2012 08:25 PM

check the stickey and listen to anything said by member BC847

Rusty89Cummins 03-12-2012 08:59 PM

keep it a true 1st gen and stay away from the p-pump. :tu:

turbo2332 03-12-2012 09:08 PM

you gotta have a goal. 300-400-500-600HP what do you want?
and VE pumps are for weiners that think they make enough power! LOL

1st_gen_puller 03-12-2012 10:00 PM