Diesel Bombers

Diesel Bombers (https://www.dieselbombers.com/)
-   1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 (https://www.dieselbombers.com/1st-generation-dodge-cummins-89-93/)
-   -   new here, new truck, need help (https://www.dieselbombers.com/1st-generation-dodge-cummins-89-93/79344-new-here-new-truck-need-help.html)

alabamaram 07-09-2011 10:10 PM

new here, new truck, need help

1 Attachment(s)
Just bought a 91 Dodge Ram Cummins W250 (4x4/manual trans). It has some problems, most/all of which the seller disclosed, and I thought they were minor, but all together I'm overwhelmed now that I'm home. Apologies, I'm pretty new to this. I've been searching the board and found many ideas, but still stumped on some.

Problems, sort of in order of priority:
1) parking brake doesn't work. One of the two brake lines to the rear broke from the little y-joint and the other is now kinda slack.
2) This was unexpected: drove it about 60 miles to home from seller's place, and test drove it around home, and then parked it. Then i noticed (lots of) leaking fluid all over. I think its power steering fluid. I took it for a quick spin and the steering was impossible. So I am sure its leaking power steering fluid, but unclear as to what happened. Hose inspection didn't turn up much, they were all kinda wet with it.
3) brakes master cylinder appears to be leaking all over, and the breaks don't seem to have power assist...you have to pump them some, and can hear air bleeding out it sounds like.
4) looks like the where the injector feeds into the first cylinder in the top of the engine block, its slightly wet with diesel. Others are dry.
5) gas gauge reads near empty all the time
6) speedometer bounces wildly, seems to be related to engine RPMs. Seller told me he opened up the speed sensor and the gear was stripped.
7) radio doesn't work. The backlights light up on the knobs and such but it just doesn't do anything.

I'm hoping for some direction in fixing these problems. My ideas so far: