vin locked on my 1856 super chips tuner! how do i fix this? - Diesel Bombers



Ford Truck and Powerstroke Turbo Diesel Forum Discussion of General Topics related to All Ford Trucks as well as the Diesels in them

Reply
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-09-2011, 05:34 PM
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default vin locked on my 1856 super chips tuner! how do i fix this?

i just bought a 2008 f 350 crew with the 6.4. the dealer i bought it from took the dpf/cat delete pipes off for cert. and left the tuner in the console. i want to run the delete pipes for better mpg reasons.. is there anyway to fix the issue? it says "tuner is vin locked. tuner 4 is installed"


---AutoMerged DoublePost---

can i still use it since "level 4" is installed?

Last edited by Canadianf350; 08-09-2011 at 05:34 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-09-2011, 06:12 PM
Red_Rattler's Avatar
High Tech Redneck

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus WI
Posts: 6,730
Default

Soooo they put a tune on the truck for you? Or you left the tune on the truck and they flashed it? Im kinda lost here as to what happened
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:25 PM
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default

im not very knowledgable about this stuff but im pretty sure the dealer put the stock tune back on the truck
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2011, 07:47 PM
Red_Rattler's Avatar
High Tech Redneck

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus WI
Posts: 6,730
Default

so you bought the tuck with the tuner in the console of the truck and it says vin locked, right? Also they removed all that stuff for cert? Whats cert? Is the dpf and cat back on the truck now? Im willing to bet the guy traded it in with a tune on it and the truck was reflashed at the dealer without taking the program out first, sooo now the programer is useless
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:01 PM
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default

no the tuner wasnt physically inserted into the port and the truck dealer i bought the truck from sent it to a ford dealer to get it certified... before the truck went to the ford dealer it had the dpf/cat delete pipe on and for the cert. (safety) they installed the stock pipe back on (dpf and cat).

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

another question.. it says its locked however it says level 4 installed.
will it still work?

Last edited by Canadianf350; 08-09-2011 at 08:01 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:06 PM
Red_Rattler's Avatar
High Tech Redneck

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus WI
Posts: 6,730
Default

that was the last setting the tuner was on.... They flashed the computer making it back to stock and now the programer is a paper weight
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:22 PM
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Default

is there any other tuner or programer that you guys recommend? i heard the spartan was highly ranked..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2011, 08:48 PM
Red_Rattler's Avatar
High Tech Redneck

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbus WI
Posts: 6,730
Default

def spartan and take the dpf back off
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2011, 09:06 AM
Mdub707's Avatar
BOMBARDIER
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8,208
Default

I'd go Kem or Innovative myself. Spartan seemed to fall off the map a bit lately and I've read a lot about their transmission shifting lacking compared to the others now.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 AM.