5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

lag??

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2012, 06:15 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default lag??

ok ive got a question, this is my first cummins and ive only had her less than a yearl. my question is why does it seem to lag wen i try to take off from a stop, like if im stoped and give it like 3/4 throttle it takes a sec for the rpms to climb and the truck to pick up speed, she starts rolling wen i gass it but it takes a sec for the engin to rev up n really get going, i kno i shuldnt but i keep comparing it to my past fords 7.3s which if i tapped the gas they would jump, my dodge runs great and hauls *** and pulls like a some bitch but the take off concerns me, idk if its juts how these engins are or if ive got a problem.

sorry if i sound dumb but like i said ive never owned a cummins b4, im not new to diesels but i am new to the cummins

Old 04-07-2012, 08:04 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

change your fuel filter, air filter, and if u have a stock intake tube remove the baffles. does it have a factory exhaust? if its got a muffler and cat. remove em and get a aftermarket muffler if u dont like the noise. IF its still laggy. check ur codes. turn ur key. ON OFF ON OFF ON and write the numbers down as u see them. then post em up or plug em into google or something. if there are no codes and u still are laggy then. idk get bigger injectors and a bigger turbo. or a tuner

Old 04-09-2012, 08:11 PM
Diesel Enthusiast

ive already gutted the intake, new fuel filter and air filter, muffler removed, cat is still there tho, i checked for codes and there isnt any, she runs really strong, maby im driving my self mad cuz i try comparing it to my old v8 diesels, this cummins stock walks all over any suped up powerstroke ive ever owned

Old 04-09-2012, 09:15 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts