5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

Blue Smoke

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2012, 02:39 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Blue Smoke

First off Im not a mechanic but know this is the right place for this question.. Dealership diesel tech telling me my 2003 dodge 5.9 cummins 3500 consumed 2gallons of oil and blew its engine because of bad ring on cylinder #1 which caused blue smoke internally not visible thru converter and muffler. Is this even possible with no leak and no blow by?

Also stated consuming 2gallons of oil/ 10quarts over 6000mi interval is not uncommon with this situation?

Any advise appreciated this is beyond my level of understanding.

Old 10-18-2012, 03:42 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 111 Likes on 105 Posts

So the engine blew up? Blow by would have been very evident! With a broken ring yes it will blow the oil out of the engine some will go through the exhaust So what is the question? Warranty is over, broken rings are common and do happen, repair is expensive if someone else is doing it!

Old 10-18-2012, 03:59 PM
Diesel Fan

The Specific question.....Is it possible to loose 2gallons/10quarts of oil with bad ring internally on cylindar #1 as dealer suggests with no noticable leak or blowby or is that BS?

Next question Dealer tech states blue smoke caused by this condition which burned the oil is not noticeable as it passes thru exhaust is this BS?

No warranty 238,000 but I take care of it always change oil on time new injectors lastly valves adjusted. Truck blew on Sunday it was 2 gallons low.

Dealership changed oil about 6,000 ago. It was due for change.

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

Lastly how the hell do I prove they f'd up? Or is it this situation I'm told possible?

Last edited by rjmroofing; 10-18-2012 at 03:59 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Old 10-19-2012, 08:37 AM
Diesel Bomber
Received 111 Likes on 105 Posts