Diesel Bombers

Diesel Bombers (https://www.dieselbombers.com/)
-   24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 (https://www.dieselbombers.com/24-valve-2nd-gen-dodge-cummins-98-5-02/)
-   -   idle adjustment for dummies? (https://www.dieselbombers.com/24-valve-2nd-gen-dodge-cummins-98-5-02/921-idle-adjustment-dummies.html)

powerfan985 04-02-2007 09:54 AM

idle adjustment for dummies?

hey im new to this whole deal and just started learnin about the diesel world a couple years ago (and im a slow learner). but, when i bought my truck it was bone stock with 100k on it and it has always idled just a little high like 850 or 900 usually. since ive owned the truck i learned about lift pumps and injection pumps the hard way and they have both been replaced, so my injection pump is ruled out on making it idle high. i also took it to my local dodge dealership and they claimed to just adjust the idle on the apps. i didnt like this idea because it has a sticker right on it that says "do not adjust". so the mechanic says its no big deal start the truck up and he'll adjust it for free. so next thing ya know this didnt even turn my idle down and i was throwin check engine codes all the time. well i replaced my apps and dont throw check engine codes anymore but i still have a slightly high idle and have ruled out injection pump, and apps and dont know what else it could be. any help would be appreciated. also anyone know where i could get my truck on a dyno around here? (central ohio)

Whit 04-02-2007 10:05 AM

Yaknow I have never heard of anyone with idle issues so this is a wierd first for me

there is no way to adjust the idle as far as I know

Uncle Bubba 04-02-2007 10:09 AM

I thought idle speed was controlled by the injector pump electronics. Don't know this to be the case for fact. Never heard of idle being adjustable on the 24V though.

Dr. Evil 04-02-2007 10:22 AM

If Im not mistaken the idle is controlled by the ECM and there is no way to adjust it.