Diesel Bombers

Diesel Bombers (https://www.dieselbombers.com/)
-   24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 (https://www.dieselbombers.com/24-valve-2nd-gen-dodge-cummins-98-5-02/)
-   -   Lift pump issues (https://www.dieselbombers.com/24-valve-2nd-gen-dodge-cummins-98-5-02/135875-lift-pump-issues.html)

BOOTLEG012500 01-19-2019 09:08 AM

Lift pump issues

Hey guys, so my lift pump just started to hang at 5-7 psi at idle and dropping to 0-1 if I stomp on the throttle obviously I don’t stomp on the throttle and been driving my Jeep instead. I bought an Airtex E7153 replacement pump for the truck and I have already added a big line kit from the filter to the VP. Has anyone done a big line from the lift pump to the filter? Also since I’m getting into the fuel system should I modify a tank pickup? I’m not trying to spend a small fortune but since I’m gonna be tearing into it thoughts? Also I don’t ever plan on putting a chip or big injectors in it I’m solely keeping it as a daily driver I have a Jeep to play with and eventually that’s gonna have a 4BT in it. So any help or advice y’all can give me about keeping enough fuel flowing to the VP would be awesome. I’ve read some threads and there’s a lot of good input I’ve already fixed my door, and over head console, cup holder, and glovebox from here. So I’m happy I found a good forum!!

MBFD 592 01-25-2019 05:06 PM

Just make sure to keep at least 14 PSI to your VP pump.

vineyardm 01-25-2019 08:24 PM

Those pumps look similar to the crappy pump originally installed.

Some actions - Mount the pump low on the truck bed rail - close to the tank. Lift pumps push better than 'suck' - and will perform better at a low location, closer to the tank.