Diesel Bombers

Diesel Bombers (https://www.dieselbombers.com/)
-   24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 (https://www.dieselbombers.com/24-valve-2nd-gen-dodge-cummins-98-5-02/)
-   -   EGT question (https://www.dieselbombers.com/24-valve-2nd-gen-dodge-cummins-98-5-02/115363-egt-question.html)

Texas Pride 09-16-2013 06:10 PM

EGT question

im new to this but I know high egt's are a death sentence, is there anything I can add on or do (besides controlling my big ass right foot) to keep them down?

jigabop 09-17-2013 02:49 PM

what kind of temps are you seeing?

for the record: you can run 1250* all day long safely. going beyond that into 1300-1500 = grey area....don't stay in that area too long and you're fine...above 1500 = you're asking for trouble...

RedChevy44 09-17-2013 10:24 PM

Compound turbos will help keep temps down, as long as you don't add to much fuel to that extra air. There is also water-meth injection.

Rayrod 09-20-2013 11:13 PM

a bigger turbo or coumpounds, aftermarket cam shaft, better air intake and or exaust. all can bring egt down. I've heard that those fancy aftermarket intercoolers don't really do much. but they say they bring egt down too.

GHOST806 09-24-2013 10:23 PM

def intake mani. and exhaust mani. possibly a cold air?, an ATS heater delete will also help keep them down.

jigabop 09-25-2013 11:21 AM

Originally Posted by GHOST806 (Post 1027564)
def intake mani. and exhaust mani. possibly a cold air?, an ATS heater delete will also help keep them down.

I see you are a bit of an ATS fanboy...

bit overpriced if you ask me.

as for all of the above you listed... all not necessary. increased timing and quality injectors matched with a properly sized turbo or turbos for the application will keep egts in check without all that extra crap.

I have no problem with EGTs and do you see any of that???

http://www.digital-anarchy.com/image...bc8ac865c7.jpg