1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

Help

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2010, 09:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help

So maybe you know I'm new to this world building my first truck ever.... Taking a cummins dodge 1993 turbo diesel the whole engine out of a dodge flat bed. Not sure were to find the shut off and where all the other sensors are. It has a bad *** getrag 5 spd on the back of it. So any suggestions to what I need to do. Im putting this into a 1971 chevy custom body short bed swamp bug truck. Any advice?

Last edited by connieg0425; 07-28-2010 at 09:35 PM.
Old 07-28-2010, 09:39 PM
Site Sponsor
Received 636 Likes on 254 Posts

what do you mean? the shut off is on the pump (1 wire) and thats about all she needs to run as far as other senors there is just a few plugs on her

Old 07-28-2010, 11:48 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 335 Likes on 247 Posts

There's plenty of wires on the engine, most are more trouble than they're worth. A decision to make is whether or not you want to try to adapt the Dodge's PCM. If you have a basic understanding of circuits, it's easier to bypass the ECM, unless you want to keep things automated. If you don't have a basic understanding of circuits, you're going to be confused no matter what you decided to do.

Only the shut-off solenoid wire is required to be connected to run, and that can be neglected if the shut-off solenoid is modified. To crank the engine you just need to give a crank signal to the starter relay.

The engine has an oil pressure sensor near the center of the fuel-side of the block; I don't know what kind of signal this is, probably just a 0-5 or 0-12 volt analog signal, probably not useful on your 71's gauge. It's better to use a mechanical gauge anyways.