12 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 94-98 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with P7100 Injection Pumps

1996 cummins shifting problems

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2017, 09:26 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 cummins shifting problems

I have 1996 12v 4x4 automatic transmission I just recently had new turbo injectors valve springs 3 piece manifold and transmission rebuilt. Since I got it back the transmission shifts 1-3 gear really fast it's in 3rd gear at 15 mph if you let it idle and pull it self not touching the fule it still shifts into third gear. I sent it back to the transmission guy he's went back into it checking everything and even changed the valve body and it still has the same problem no engine light or anything. I'm trying to figure out what would be causing this issue I'm new to the form just trying to get any help getting my truck straightened out. Thank you

Old 09-02-2017, 07:11 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 59 Likes on 58 Posts

Welcome to Dodge Ram transmissions. They shift early, and the less load there is, the earlier they shift. They want to be in a high gear, they don't waste any time getting there, and if you don't come to a complete stop or put it to the floor, they won't shift back down either. The best solution is to shift it manually and not give it the option.

Old 09-03-2017, 10:59 PM

The truck didn't have this problem until I had the truck built

Old 09-04-2017, 05:54 AM
Diesel Bomber

It's possible that you're TV cable is out of adjustment, or your TPS sensor coincidentally started crapping out at this moment. Did you do a stock rebuild on the trans or is it upgraded? What you describe does not sound unusual at all. When does it shift if you're standing on it?

Old 09-04-2017, 03:42 PM