Diesel Bombers

Diesel Bombers (https://www.dieselbombers.com/)
-   12 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 94-98 (https://www.dieselbombers.com/12-valve-2nd-gen-dodge-cummins-94-98/)
-   -   97 12valve tappet cover oil leak (https://www.dieselbombers.com/12-valve-2nd-gen-dodge-cummins-94-98/107455-97-12valve-tappet-cover-oil-leak.html)

pro fire guy 01-05-2013 08:02 PM

97 12valve tappet cover oil leak

my 97 12 valve seems to be leaking i think i need to take off injector pump does anyone know for sure thanks i am not a diesel mechanic but willing to tackle pretty much anything any advise appreciated thanks in advance

mysterync 01-05-2013 08:55 PM

Fairly easy job when using factory timing! Remove the pump and reseal the tappet cover. Make sure you clean the pump shaft and gear well. You'll need a pump gear puller.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

pro fire guy 01-05-2013 09:00 PM

thanks kind of what i thought but wasnt quite sure thanks for the help

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

one other thing do you know if there is a bracket on the rear of the pump

mysterync 01-05-2013 09:02 PM

Originally Posted by pro fire guy (Post 977340)
thanks kind of what i thought but wasnt quite sure thanks for the help

one other thing do you know if there is a bracket on the rear of the pump

Theres one at the bottom of the pump with 2 long 10mm bolts. You'll use the pinned timing method, its very easy but finding tdc can be a pain the first few times.

pro fire guy 01-05-2013 09:05 PM

thanks i will let you know how it goes probably tackle next weekend thanks very much

Fox 01-08-2013 10:36 PM

in my advice... to make things easier. Go ahead and try to find one of the nice metal TDC timing pins. The plastic ones leave so much room for error.

pro fire guy 01-10-2013 05:52 AM