5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

06 Cummins Problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2012, 12:38 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 06 Cummins Problems

Fellow Bombers,

I recently bought an 06 ram 2500 and need a little help. I'm new to the diesel world and currently am loving every moment of it. I've heard that there were some innate problems (not many) with the 06 cummins and the aftermarket provides some solutions for them.

Could anyone fill me in on (in plain english, I'm a newbie) on what these problems were and how I can solve them now? I know the cummins right now is almost bullet proof, I just want to ensure I don't experience any of these problems, prep my rig for the long haul and maybe add a little juice just for the fun of it.

A to do list, per say, in order from 1-? would help me out immensely. The list could start with the "needs" and end with the "wants" as I hinted to above. Thanks.

-Lucky13Sgt

Old 01-08-2012, 12:47 PM
Received 843 Likes on 695 Posts

Get yourself a good 2 micron fuel filter to help save your injectors. Then do your basics.... Gauges, Exhaust, Intake, Smarty or Smarty Jr.

Luke

The following users liked this post:
Lucky13SGT (01-10-2012)
Old 01-08-2012, 03:06 PM
Diesel Wrench
Received 84 Likes on 76 Posts

Fuel filtration first, get as good a filter as possible between the OE cannister and the CP-3. # um is the best that is available at this time.

Youe exhaust is already 4" and unless your going for big power its good. A 5" tailpipe would deepen the tone a bit.

The 4" Fleetguard filter is the best air filter available for the stock box and is good to 500 HP or better. Either drill the air box with extra holes in the bottom or add a PVC pipe to the wheel well to stop the filter minder form pulling down.